Council and democracy > Your Councillors

Your Councillors by Ward

The Council comprises 69 elected Councillors who have a wide variety of roles including agreeing the Council’s policy framework, Council Tax and budget.

Each Councillor is elected to represent a specific area (Electoral Ward) and normally serve five year term of office.

A Councillor has a number of roles and responsibilities and they need to balance the needs and interests of their local community, political party or group and the priorities of the wider County Borough. Councillors are community leaders and their duties typically include; holding surgeries to meet with their constituents, supporting local organisations (e.g. schools, businesses and charities), campaigning on local issues, developing links with all parts of the community and being a community leader.

You can find out more about the Councillors elected to serve on Caerphilly County Borough Council, their roles and contact details by following the links below:

 Aber Valley

 Aberbargoed and Bargoed



 Bedwas and Trethomas


 Cefn Fforest and Pengam



 Darran Valley




 Machen and Rudry


 Morgan Jones

 Moriah and Pontloyttyn


 New Tredegar





 Risca East

 Risca West

 St Cattwg

 St Martins

 Twyn Carno



 Ystrad Mynach