Council and democracy > Committee details

Committee details


Purpose of committee

All council meetings have been suspended due to the pandemic lockdown. We will review this decision as and when the restrictions are lifted.


The Council comprises 73 elected Councillors who have a wide variety of roles including agreeing the Council’s policy framework, Council Tax and budget.

Each Councillor is elected to represent a specific area (Electoral Ward) and normally serve four year term of office. 

A Councillor has a number of roles and responsibilities and they need to balance the needs and interests of their local community, political party or group and the priorities of the wider County Borough. Councillors are community leaders and their duties typically include; holding surgeries to meet with their constituents, supporting local organisations (e.g. schools, businesses and charities), campaigning on local issues, developing links with all parts of the community and being a community leader.


Contact information

Support officer: Emma Sullivan.

Phone: 01443 864420